Submissions open July 1- September 1

Naugatuck River Review’s next contest submission period is July 1 – Sept. 1, 2017 for publication in the winter/spring 2018 journal. Contest fee is $20.

The winter/spring 2017 issue is available now. The summer/fall 2017 issue 18 should be out in August.

Submittable link will be up here on July 1, 2017

Naugatuck River Review’s 8th Annual Narrative Poetry Contest Results!

Naugatuck River Review 8th Annual Narrative Poetry Contest Results:
Our judge this year was Tara Betts. Congratulations to all the poets!
1st prize won $1000, 2nd prize won $250, 3rd prize won $100
All winners, finalists and semi-finalists will be published in the Winter/Spring 2017 contest issue of Naugatuck River Review, issue 17.

First Prize – Destiny O. Birdsong for “Mythicana”
Second Prize – Kristi Carter for “One Orange Streak of Day”
Third Prize – Howard Faerstein for “Splintered”


Lesley Jenike  – “The World Goes By My Cage and Never Hears Me”
William Moorhead – “Behind their Eyes”
Nancy Fowler – “An ocean too wide to be bridged”
Micki Blenkush – “Sergeant Kyle Returns from Afghanistan”
Kathleen Smith – “Rough Cut”
Lisa Drnec Kerr – “Starry Messenger”
LeRoy Sorenson – “In a Black Year”
Erin Redfern – “San Jose Family Camp (1989)”
Paula Mahon – “Preparing the temple lintel”
Alan Michael Parker – “The Ride”
Jessi Lewis – “Should I Draw the Mountain For You?”
Anne Riesenberg – “Or”
Suzanne Edison – “Accompanied Corpus”
Renny Christopher – “Ciutadella Park, Barcelona, in Spring”
Jason Morphew – “Winery”
Cindy Stewart-Rinier – “Seven Degrees from Verticle”
Gretchen Berg – “Mountain View”


Rebecca Olander – “What I Remember about Heidi”
James Crews – “Carrying the Moon”
Jodi Hottell – “Monday, Tuesday”
Judy Kaber – “Unity Woman Killed in Route 137 Crash”
Janet Bowdoin – “Desmond Hits the Biscuit Factory”
Rebecca Ellis – “Pageant at an Orphanage”
Pat Hale – “A Brief History of Everything”
David Leff – “Turkey Hunting”
James Cahillane – “Almost Home”
Shirley Brewer – “Coming of Age in Wegman’s”
Anthony Tao – “Baby Rabbit”
Rose Mary Boehm – “Guilt”
Laura Foley – “Message from the Beyond”
Grace Curtis – “Orange Moth”
Susan Rothbard – “Salty”
Gina Ferrara – “Seeing Psycho for the First Time”
Kristin Laurel – “Inheritance”
Ken Holland – “What Happened After the Before”
Vernita Hall – “Bop: Major League”
Kelsey Porada – “Edelweiss”
Darla Himeles – “On the Runaway Angus Bull the Stewarts Kindly Saved”